Seriously?

In general, high school boys want to do the “hard, right thing,” but they often struggle when it comes to finding the right words. After listening to a UCC boy talk recently about an incident that took place at school,  I think that “words” may be the wrong word.

Here’s his story (and I’m paraphrasing this):

I was joking around with some friends, and while we were chirping one another, I used some homophobic language. In hindsight, I understand how wrong this is, but at the time, I was just busting on some friends.

After using an all too familiar homophobic slur, another friend — who wasn’t a part of our conversation but who happened to overhear us – came over to me and said one word, “Seriously?”

That one word hit me.

It wasn’t a speech, a lecture, a poem or a haiku. It was his one simple word.

But because of that one word,  I suddenly saw everything differently.

3 Responses to “Seriously?”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    A great word and one that wasn’t part of the lexicon when I was at UCC. Sadly.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Seriously the new Really? Gotta love how plain and simple can change the world.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Reminds me of that “disappointed” look that only a father can give. Cuts like a knife … no words needed.

Leave a Reply

