Reading the Play

A Mom’s Dilemma:

“My son and I used to spend a lot of time together. He was actually quite chatty when he was younger, but ever since he went to the Upper School and started going through that moody, adolescent phase, he just never talks. I ask him how his day is, and all he ever says is ‘fine.’ It’s a complete shut down.

I’ve really tried. I’ve even started reading the sports page, just so I can follow the conversation a bit. Last week during the Super Bowl, when I asked him what he thought of Joe Flacco, he looked directly at me and said, ‘I can tell what you are trying to do. You are trying to get me to talk to you, and I see right through you.’

In hindsight, maybe I should have asked about Colin Kaepernick? At least we could have talked about his tattoos…”

One Response to “Reading the Play”

  1. M.Kel Says:

    Hahaha – you are not alone! Kudos to you for trying to follow the sports page! After talking to many people and reading many books, I now understand that this behaviour is normal and common at this age.

    It hasn’t started with my son yet, but my daughter entered this phase a few years ago. There’s a lot going on in their heads (teen stuff) and having a simple conversation with their parents is just too much work. My daughter and I now spend many hours in the car together driving to and from her many practices & tournaments in complete silence. We are actually both much happier. She likes the freedom from “intrusive” questions such as a cheerful, “Hi honey, how did it go?” And I’ve accepted that this is the way it is for now.

    Don’t take it personally. I hear that they will eventually emerge from the tunnel and the key is too wait it out without any major battles.

Leave a Reply

