Sail On

A friend of mine is an experienced sailor, and because she is competing at a high level these days, she took it upon herself to re-read the racing rules of sailing this summer. (I confess it is a text I have not read myself.)

“What’s interesting is that these rules, which were first put to paper generations ago and are the traffic rules for boats sailing together, were all written, not so much to be ‘enforced’ so much as they were to be interpreted, and interpreted in order to protect the less experienced and more vulnerable sailors.”

When I was a student, I used to read about “the preferential option for the poor.” I haven’t heard much about that notion recently. While I don’t know much about sailing, the idea that we should design a system in order to protect the most vulnerable makes me want to grab a tiller and get out on the water.

Leave a Reply

