On Teaching Creativity

Like a lot of folks, I’ve jumped on the creativity bandwagon. I think it was Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk that was my “road to Emmaus” moment. (Take a look. If you like Michael Caine, you’ll love Sir Ken!)

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG9CE55wbtY)

When I’ve asked the educational gurus, “How do you actually teach creativity?” most admit that you can’t do it directly, that what schools should do is create an atmosphere where it is ok to take risks.

I sometimes wonder if this kind of culture is more difficult to create in schools where assessment is so much on our students’ minds. I don’t know if it’s the nature of the IB or if it’s in the DNA of UCC, but we seem profoundly aware of academic measurement, and I wonder if this undermines our creative spirit?

Leave a Reply

