“Born in the GTA”

To be sung to the the melody of “Born in the USA

With apologies to Bruce Springsteen fans everywhere.

Born down in Philadelph-I-A
Pa said, “This ain’t no place to stay.
Get yourself North of that Ontario Lake
But there’s just one thing, you’ll just have to fake.”

(tell ‘em)

Born in the GTA. Tell ‘em: Born in the GTA
Love the Leafs. On them your keen.
Don’t call him “Matt”– his name is “Matts” Sundin

Went to town on the TTC
To the Educational Min-is-tryyyyy
Hiring man said, “If it was up to me.
You’ll head up there to UCC.

(tell ‘em)

Born in the GTA. Born in the GTA.
Love the Leafs. And those Jays
(remember) That ain’t no “foyer” that is called a “Foy-AAA”

So here I am now in Forest Hill
Hanging with Cowie ‘n chillin’ in the Ville
I’m so happy, any fool can see
Cuz I’m here, but I ain’t got to take the IB.

Born in the GTA. Born in the GTA.
Now I love those Leafs. And I love those Jays.
Now I end this song and every sentence with “eh?”

Leave a Reply

