Losing It at the Lett

I like to think of myself as a relatively mild-mannered, even keeled, “what-would-Fred-MacMurray-do?”  kind  of guy. But every once in a while, I can feel my pre-frontal lobes fail, and I feel my heart pounding, and my ears burning and…

This is a lead up, of course, to an “I lost it yesterday” story. Here’s the scene: I had just walked into the gym for the start of our opening basketball game, when I happened to notice the music. It was hard not to.  The sound was loud and profane, and there were words amplified to excruciatingly high decibels — words I’d prefer only pirates whisper.

I also noticed a couple of  younger boys from the Prep sitting right in the stands. It may have been the thought of their apparent innocence going down the drain before my very ears, but before I knew what hit me, I was racing like a lunatic towards the sound system where I bumped into a somewhat startled student, a student who was in command of sound central.

After a brief exchange of pleasantries, he informed me that he was simply playing warm up music, and he immediately apologized “if I happened to be offended “by his play selection.

It’s not about the boy with the music. He happens to be a positively delightful young man. What struck me was how coarse things have become. When I told the boy how inappropriate the words were, he wasn’t at all angry, defensive, or defiant. He seemed genuinely curious as he asked, “What do you want me to play?”

Something told me, even as my synapses were firing, that “The Sound of Music” was out of the question. Still, I’m sure Julie Andrews might have understood my momentary anger.  And what’s wrong with “A Spoon Full of Sugar”? It  just might have done more than “make the medicine go down.”

Leave a Reply

