A Rose by Any Other Name…

I know I should have talked to Mr. McKay about this first, but I hope you can help me with this. It’s about a name.

When you play the University of Southern California, you compete with the Men of Troy at “The Coliseum.” When you play against the University of Florida, you go up against the Gators at “The Swamp.” And when you play Louisiana State University, you are forced to go face to face with the Tigers by venturing into “Death Valley.”

By contrast, if you are a visiting team coming to UCC, you play a game at “The Oval.” I don’t know about you, but unless you have a completely irrational fear of geometric shapes, I’m just not sure that “The Oval” puts the fear of the wild into you the way The Coliseum, Death Valley, and The Swamp do.

So here is my question: Can we come up with a name for our home field that will reinforce that home field advantage? I’ve been asking for suggestions, and so far I’ve received two.

A Year one guy suggested, “The Field Next to the Arena.” While that’s accurate, I’m not sure it’s as catchy as we’d like. A Foundation year scholar suggested, “The Cookie Jar.” Clever, I think, but not terribly intimidating.

So, if you have a suggestion, I am hoping you’ll send it along. If you come up with a creative name that sticks, you will be entitled to a “Harrison Hug” courtesy of either Graham Clarke or me. Previous winners of “Harrison Hugs” are not qualified to participate in this contest. Void where prohibited by law.

2 Responses to “A Rose by Any Other Name…”

  1. Sherry Says:

    I think Rob’s on to something in terms of honoring our military past and with that said i propose the field be called “The Trenches” (fields of Horror)used in the First World War

  2. Rob Elder Says:

    How about ” Blue ZONE”
    OR “BATTALION Field” In honour of the schools military past..
    OR ” Blue Battalion Field”

Leave a Reply

