Stanley Kaplan

A cultural wrinkle: One of the things that surprised me when I first landed in Canada, was the tendency for some folks to use their high school grade point average as a “marker.” Americans, by contrast, are as likely to use their SAT scores. “I once dated a girl who had a 1300. Yippee!”

Part of this we can attribute to the success of one Stanley Kaplan, who passed away yesterday at the age of 90.

Like a lot of people, I have mixed views on standardized tests. (I’m just happy the SAT dropped the analogy section. I could never quite grasp questions that started with: “Sandpaper is to peanut butter as popcorn is to _________.”)

After reading Mr. Kaplan’s obituary, though, I can understand why he pushed for standardized testing. He graduated second in his class from City College but wasn’t accepted into medical school because he was Jewish and “only went to a city public school.”

Leave a Reply

